BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

New LT Ownder

2K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  wb4eje 
#1 ·
Hello All!

I'm a new owner of '05 LT, I've had the bike for about two weeks now. Love this site, lots of information the BMW motorcycles.

I've been riding Electra Glides (Geezer Glide) for the past 12 years. I'm looking at the LT as a replacement for my '05 Electra Glide. I took a test drive at the local dealer and couldn't really decide if I liked it. It is hard to make a decision like that in a 15 to 20 minute test drive. One thing I will say, no Harley dealer I have ever seen would allow a test drive on a brand new bike. The BMW dealer put me on a "BRAND NEW" '08 LT.

The LT certainly has its charms. I like the power and the smoothness, lots of toys to play with, and the style of the bike. The handling at road speed is terrific for a big bike. The brakes are a mixed bag, like the power assist when the engine is running, not too crazy about the loud rear brake (I've got to fix that) and the brakes can be a bit jerky at low speeds.

I don't like having to take tupperware off to do repairs, upgrades, maintenance. The seat is way too soft, after about an hour in the saddle I'm getting some butt burn. Wind protection is not all that good, not nearly as good as the Harley. I added a Ztechnik windscreen, that helped the wind protection a lot.

After riding the dealers new '08, I bought a consignment '05 he had on the floor. He really wanted to sell me the '08 but I didn't want to commit that many resources. I am a bit worried about the fact that this '05 only had just over 1000 miles on it (it was a garage model) but then the bike still has a month of warranty left, so I'll ride the crap out of this thing for a month and see what happens.