Rear Brake Disk - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old Mar 22nd, 2008, 10:23 am Thread Starter

Rear Brake Disk

Hi, Ive noticed that the rear brake disk has become loose.Has this happened to anyone else. I know that there are two or three retaining screws holding the disk onto the shaft.Do I need to buy new screws when replacing them. Is it as simple as taking it off and tightning them.
Any comments welcome
[email protected]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old Mar 22nd, 2008, 9:28 pm

Re: Rear Brake Disk

Paul, I assume you are talking of the "Cowbell" effect on the rear disc. While I am far from an expert, I believe that the rear disc needs to be replaced, the bolts go through rivets and they (the rivets) tend to work loose, which causes the "Cowbell" effect.

I replaced mine with an "EBC" rear replacement disc, I believe about half the price of OEM, and works very well, I also replaced pads at the same time.

Search site FAQ for instructions on "How" to do the work of changing it out, The abs ring needs to be moved ovet to the new rotor. This can be a challenge, so instructions will be very helpful.

HTH,

NOGILLS2

Booze Brother# 69
2003 K1200LTE "BEERBURNER" RIP 07/21/09
2006 Aluma Trailer "AFTERBURNER" SOLD
2007 ST1300ABS "Quicksilver"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 8 Old Mar 22nd, 2008, 9:38 pm

yes it needs replaced if you don't like the cowbell, otherwise keep on riding. I tried to replace mine with an EBC rotor and after 3 rotors sent to my house and returned I gave up on EBC. Every disc I got from them was out of spec. The disc's were not warped but rather different thicknesses around the disc.

Jeremy
1999 Champagne
Bike #70151

post #4 of 8 Old Mar 23rd, 2008, 12:18 am

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabrown