Just curious - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old Feb 14th, 2008, 8:18 am Thread Starter

Just curious

Hi Guys and Gals, I am curious to know something. I have been filling up motorcycles off and on for 31 years, mostly japanese ones, but a couple of other BMWs as well. Why does the LT need to be on it's sidestand to put petrol in?. One would think that having it on it's centre stand, and with the auto shutoff on all pumps, it would get an even tank full, no?.

Cheers and TIA,

Tony

Tony Carpenter

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BMW K1200LT 2008
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old Feb 14th, 2008, 8:40 am
Gold Supporter

Side stand. If you fill it on the center stand you will be about a half gallon off full.

Jerry
Look in the wolf's eyes and what do you see--A guardian spirit or fierce enemy?
2008 FLHTCU White Pearl

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 20 Old Feb 14th, 2008, 8:48 am Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewuff
Side stand. If you fill it on the center stand you will be about a half gallon off full.
Thanks Jerry, kind of what I suspected, a strange shaped tank, I have been struggling to get even 6 gallons in when the BC says I have only 30 miles left with only around 200 miles at 42MPG..

Tony

Tony Carpenter

BMW K1200LT 2008

post #4 of 20 Old Feb 14th, 2008, 9:01 am
Lifetime Supporter

Cool

Filling on the center stand may also cause some gas to go out the over-flow line into the canister. Then she will not run worth a crap. I learned the hard way. The partial canisterectomy has been performed so it is no longer an issue for me.

Benton Blalock
"I ride.....the bike doesn't"

'18 Honda Africa Twin Adventure SportDCT
'12 Kawi KLR 650 "Dirty" - traded in