BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

Questions: What is final drive failure and clutch slave failure?

4K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  LAF 
#1 ·
Please don't slam me. I'm a K12LT newbie (or hope to be by the end of this week 2000 K1200LT w/40k miles) and wonder if there is a simple explanation on what these failures are? What parts wear out and what the "cost" of the parts are? And seperate if possible what labor goes along with repair.

I'm trying to figure out what it cost and if there is room for me to do some or all of the work to save some $$. Understanding from what I've read that the FD failure is about 4%, not sure what the slave failure rate is, I might not even have to deal with this if I'm lucky. Also are these seals, orings, or whatever is the failure points are a normal service item that should be changed at a certain mileage interval?
Thank you for your replies.....
Hip

#2 ·
hip001 said:
Please don't slam me. I'm a K12LT newbie (or hope to be by the end of this week 2000 K1200LT w/40k miles) and wonder if there is a simple explanation on what these failures are? What parts wear out and what the "cost" of the parts are? And seperate if possible what labor goes along with repair.

Hip:
Final drive failures are caused by the Deep Groove Roller bearing failing on the rear wheel hub. There is a lot of speculation what causes these failures but nothing has been proven. Majority of failures are between 20&30K miles. After 30K the failure rate drops off. Depending on your mechanical skill level the repairs can be done for less than $400. If dealer does the work 2 - 3 times that depending on what requires replacement.

Labor: This again depends on what has failed. If the failure is caught early enough you usually only have to replace the bearing and output seal. Depending on age and milage you may have to replace the paralever pivot bearings also. These are the Pivot bearings for the final drive.

hip001 said: