Lessons learned; more to come - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old Dec 19th, 2007, 7:48 pm Thread Starter

Lessons learned; more to come

After a thirty+ year absence from biking, I took delivery of my new LT in August, '07. Easing back into things during the late summer and fall, the first thing I realized is that I had either forgotten everything I knew--or never knew how to ride in the first place. So with that humbling knowledge at the fore, I took the MSF safety course and afterwards, proceeded riding the LT as if I was a complete beginner, which is the flat, unvarnished truth of things.

Now that my pride and joy is tucked away in its CycleShell for the winter here in the Berkshires--surrounded by about two feet of snow--I thought I would pass along a couple of things (just a couple) that I have practiced since getting back on top. We all have our own experiences and lessons learned when starting from scratch. These are some of mine.

First, as I approach the bike wearing appropriate safety gear, I throw everything else completely out of my mind and think only about what I'm about to do. (Sort of like that other pleasant activity...)
Second, I sit on the bike and mull over my internal check list. I'm not very bright and with me also being a beginner, I do not even turn the key for two-three minutes until I am comfortable that my mind and body is now linked with the LT.
Third, once I am underway, I am immediately "on point." There is nothing going on around me that I am not in control of--or can instantly react to, if things get out of hand. If I can't control matters or see things clearly, then I am immediately searching out alternate trip dynamics.