DIY While under warranty - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old Nov 28th, 2005, 4:18 pm Thread Starter

DIY While under warranty

I have four months warranty left and i,m coming up for a 12k service and in march of next year my bike will be two years old.
Got the wife moaning about the cost of the service .
what do i do ?.
I,m sitting at home looking at the cd workshop , which i have recently bought and I can,t make my mind up what to do .
I have many years experience of servicing my previous bikes , especially bmw ,s.
The last big job i did was changing a clutch on a k100 a few years ago .
What i want to ask is, if I service it myself using genuine parts and get the dealer to change the brake /clutch fluid and READ THE Moditec faults out, is this going to effect the resale value when i decide to sell it., because Obviously there won,t be a stamp in the service book.
and will bmw still honour the remainder of the warranty.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old Nov 28th, 2005, 4:28 pm
Super Moderator

This will have no affect on the warranty or resale value whatsoever. A large number of folks on this site perform their own service and get the dealers to do the other items you mention (including me). Go ahead and do your own service, and save the money for some new farkles!

David Taylor
San Jose, CA
2010 R1200RT Polar Metallic
AMA, BMWMOA
Booze Brother #4

The shortest distance between two points is for people who don't ride!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 10 Old Nov 28th, 2005, 4:32 pm
IBR# 366

Garage
They can't dishonor the warranty if you do your own service, unless you've obviously messed something up badly. Just keep your parts receipts and a record of what you've done. Plus if you let the dealer do the flushes and MoDiTec readout, they should at least stamp that section.