Motorcycle Lifts - anyone use one? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old Nov 28th, 2005, 10:50 am Thread Starter

Motorcycle Lifts - anyone use one?

Winter is approaching here in New England all too quickly (we've already had to shovel the driveway). So, it's getting time to start thinking about doing all the projects on the bike I've been planning, like installing the intercom system, PIAA lights, as well as performing the routine servicing.

Tools and skills aren't a problem - I've been a professional auto tech for years, and am now an instructor/regional troubleshooter for an import manufacturer. Years of turning wrenches have taught my body a few things, too. It no longer likes to crouch down, or lay on cold concrete floors anymore without severe repercussions.

I have one of the "jack type" motorcycle lifts. It worked fine for my old cruiser, but it just won't handle the LT. I've been looking at one of these:

http://eagleequip.com/page/EE/PROD/LI-MC/603-038

Has anyone had the opportunity to use something like this? I was concerned over the stability of the LT being supported upright by the front tire clamping device. If it allowed just a bit too much lean, I couldn't imagine the damage an 850 pound bike would cause falling over from three feet up. Ideally, the lift would be lag-bolted into the garage floor, but that just isn't practical in my situation.

If anyone has something else they have used with success, please let me know!

(BTW, temps this week will be approaching 60 - with rain. Thursday should be dry and cooler - there is still time to take the bike to work!)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old Nov 28th, 2005, 11:00 am
Senior Member (ret.)

If that's not a Handy SAM 1000, then it is a real good copy.

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Raffy
post #3 of 18 Old Nov 28th, 2005, 11:37 am