Spark plug diagnosis??? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old Oct 9th, 2007, 10:22 pm Thread Starter

Spark plug diagnosis???

OK, all you head guys out there... what do you make of the pics below? I just pulled these at about 19k, after having purchased the bike at 15k, with the dealer saying they serviced the bike at 12k & 15k. Shame on me for not getting complete service records and redoing all of the service items myself anyway

If you've seen any of my other posts about my clutch-replacement-turned-into-fix-a-bunch-of-leaks ongoing work (like this one), you'll know I had oil leaks on the crankcase vent hose, #3 injector, and #3 intake manifold.

I'm a novice at evaluating plugs, but my guess is that #1 looks OK, #2 has too much oil in the cylinder, #3 is only a little better than #2, and #4 is a little better than #3. I'm also concerned that the ceramic looks a little worn on #3, perhaps due to the detonation condition that David Shealey described, which could be caused by, among other things, ring problems (or maybe a bad valve guide seal?).

My plan is to install new plugs and run for a while, checking the plugs every 1,000 miles and monitoring oil consumption. If they show signs of excessive oil or abnormal wear, or if I start losing oil, it's time for a compression test and possibly cylinder work over the winter.

Below the plugs are photos of the plug holes in the head, if there's anything of note there, I'd appreciate advice.

Dave

'03 K1200LT-C Dark Graphite
'96 Triumph Sprint 900 British Racing Green (traded)
'95 Yamaha Virago 750 Pearl/Black (sold)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old Oct 9th, 2007, 10:38 pm

the 3 intake problem caused it to look like it does.. too lean... then I'd make sure the rest of the intakes are working properly...

With the bike run longer with the leaking #3, it may have damaged the cylinder as Dave suggests...