Protective Gear: To Armor or Not? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 Old Nov 27th, 2005, 8:46 am Thread Starter

Protective Gear: To Armor or Not?

Kind of a continuation of a thread I started last night after getting some new riding gear, including some Gerbing's products, but focuses on one question: body armor.

For those of you who use the Gerbing's heated jacket (not jacket liner), is it an issue for you that it's not "armored"? Obviously it would provide abrasion protection, but the shoulders, back, and elbows are not armored. Is this important?

For everyone else: I know some go with armored jackets/pants, some go with non-armored gear. Thoughts on why you chose your product?

I bought a Tourmaster 3/4 length jacket; removable insulating layer, armored, and I bought a pair of basic Fieldsheer overpants, not armored. Having second thoughts about this combination, because I have no experience with either of these brands and because if armor is important I need a different pair of pants.

The jacket, at $100 (model name is "Saber"), is priced nicely but how can it compare to BMW's new riding jacket at $500? Is BMW's product that much better; any one have one of these?

Howard Schisler
2015 BMW K1600GTL
2009 BMW K1200LT - 60k miles
2012 BMW F650GS (sold)
2005 BMW K1200LT - "Gray Ghost", traded at 120k miles
2005 Honda Shadow 650 (sold)
AMA, IBA, BMW MOA. CCRs: Braselton 2006, Osage Beach 2007, Duluth 2012

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/URL]
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old Nov 27th, 2005, 9:25 am

Quote:
Originally Posted by hschisler
Kind of a continuation of a thread I started last night after getting some new riding gear, including some Gerbing's products, but focuses on one question: body armor.