Hello! Kicking around idea of an LT - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old Aug 14th, 2007, 5:50 pm Thread Starter

Hello! Kicking around idea of an LT

Hi there everyone!

New to your forum and wanted to start the investigation process regarding the BMW 1200LT.

I've been riding since 1990. Wife and I are mid-thirties. I currently own an '06 HD Ultra Classic, and an '06 ZX-10R (moded for track only). I recently got rid of a Kawasaki ZX-14.

Anyway, I am thinking about getting a different touring bike. My wife loves the HD. I however, find it underpowered (even though I have heavily moded it) and under"technologied" for serious modern touring. The BMW 1200LT and the Honda GoldWing have my eye. The Kawasaki Concours 14 is nipping at my heels, but I fear that it lacking the full "touring" amenties found on the BMW and GoldWing, will not fit the bill.

Obviously, this being a BMW forum I understand what many of those here will respond with. However, that is what I am looking for. Pros, cons, experiences, etc. I tend to enjoy not only the touring aspect of riding, but also those great roads with nice twists and turns that only motorcyclists can truely enjoy.

Finally, I heard from my local BMW dealer that he has heard rumors that a new iteration of the BMW Luxury touring bike will be announced this October. Truth to that? Has anyone heard? If so, anyone know what the rumored changes are?

Again, thanks, and happy to be here.

-MotoVegas

Last edited by MotoVegas; Aug 14th, 2007 at 5:51 pm. Reason: Typos
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old Aug 14th, 2007, 6:00 pm

If your SO ever rides on the back of an LT, then all other bikes cease to exist..
For pure relaxed luxury on a long ride they cannot be beat....
How long ? Karen and I did 9,000 miles in one trip last summer and had to stop frequently because she'd nod off......................................