Back in the saddle... - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old Jul 31st, 2007, 8:15 am Thread Starter

Back in the saddle...

Now at 62, healthy and still possessing a youthful spirit, I return to cycling after a thirty year absence (once, dirt biker). With a good career in the bag, kids paid for, and a wonderful, supportive wife--but maybe a bit worried--I recently bought a new LT with all the perks. Now about to take my "beginner's" class, I will soon be licensed and ready for the open road.

The question (and request): If you were going to offer some general wisdom as to how to get back into motorcycling (on a big bike) safely, smoothly and wisely, what would that advice be? I am open to any and all suggestions. Should I take "advanced" classes; or should I just ride?

A bit of background: I am not technical but fairly coordinated and in good shape. Actually, I plan to use the freedom the LT offers to open up some new and pleasant horizons to help offset the jaded experiences accumulated over a long career in federal law enforcement. Hopefully, crime and criminals are in my rear view mirror.

I look forward to meeting you "out there."

-Clark
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old Jul 31st, 2007, 10:01 am

Thumbs up

First off, welcome to the Nuts Center!

I would recommend that after taking the beginner course you put on some miles and schedule yourself for the advanced class a little down the road.
The LT is heavy so your first priority is to keep up upright at low speed, below 5MPH, and when stopping (be sure to have the front wheel straight or she'll go down slowly). If she goes down don't try to stop her! It is a guaranteed hernia or worse. Just pick her up afterward.
It is a very enjoyable bike, very smooth, and you can ride her in all kinds of weathers, thanks to her protective fairing and windshield.