Same old shifter lingage trouble - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old Jul 28th, 2007, 2:59 pm Thread Starter

Cool Same old shifter lingage trouble

My shifter went on me today three blocks from home talk about luck was planning a good day of riding and not close to home, but I do carry the replacement parts.

This is my first time to replace it and doing a search I can not seem to find a step by step how to do the work, did I miss it, can anyone help I have the side plate off, do I need to remove the tupperware on that side top and bottom?

I did see that people have found a heavy duty kit which I will likely go for after this, although I have 70,000 on the original but I also lube it on a regular bases.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old Jul 28th, 2007, 7:31 pm

Depending which stud broke you can access all linkage with removal of the lower left fairing. suggest you check all links .

Pete Murray
IBA # 359 and
2014 RT
1973 R75/5
2002 LT 171 K Gone
2008 FJR 36 K Gone
Stroudsburg, PA
post #3 of 9 Old Jul 28th, 2007, 7:52 pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce13p
My shifter went on me today three blocks from home talk about luck was planning a good day of riding and not close to home, but I do carry the replacement parts.

This is my first time to replace it and doing a search I can not seem to find a step by step how to do the work, did I miss it, can anyone help I have the side plate off, do I need to remove the tupperware on that side top and bottom?

I did see that people have found a heavy duty kit which I will likely go for after this, although I have 70,000 on the original but I also lube it on a regular bases.

Thanks
Here Bruce:
http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthre...linkage+repair

This should get you on yur way. BTW I never had to remove any tupperware but others say it is easier.

2013 BMW Damask Red K1600GTL
2014 BMW K1600GTL-E EXCLUSIVE
2001 Honda C-250 Helix