Step up or down?? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old May 24th, 2007, 8:24 pm Thread Starter

Step up or down??

I am thinking about trading in my gl1800 for a K1200LT, is this taking a step up in a touring bike or taking a step down?? I quess what I am looking for is some pro's and con's of each bike. I have been on a wing for a long time and am very comfortable with them. I am new to BMW and don't know much about them at all. I do like the looks of the LT, it's something new -- it's not like every other tourer out there. I rode one a couple of times and they ride great, but these were short rides. I have done over 20 1000 mile days on the 1800 -- yea they are tough, but I felt ok after the day was done. How comfortable is the LT?? I don't plan on doing days like I have in the past -- I want to put more time in enjoying the ride, not trying to see how many miles I can do in a day.

Thanks for the info -- I look forward to getting some imput

Keith
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old May 24th, 2007, 9:21 pm

step Up I think

Keith

I have never owned a GW and I new to the BMW 2004 I picked up in March I have put about 3k on it. You will here much todo about alot of Issues with the BMW I for one have not had any problems with low speed handling I picked the BMW for its handling over the GW.

I do mostly single riding on two lane roads lots of twisties I live in North GA. I have only logged about 700 miles on the interstate most of that was when I picked it up in FLA.

But she handles sweet I enjoy riding this machine more than any other bike I have owned i have been riding most of my life.

With all that said so far I have done some work to the LT today I installed a aux cable for my IPOD what a pain in the ass that was also my first time removing the so called tupperware. I also did the HID install that was not to bad.