New motor in bike, running rough - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old May 15th, 2007, 8:55 pm Thread Starter

Red face New motor in bike, running rough

Dropped an 02 motor into my 99LT and while it runs fairly (but not perfectly) smooth at anything over 2500 rpm, it will not idle well, runs very rough and knocks like a can of paint was left in the motor.

I was "playing" with it (as my wife says) earlier and pulled the vacum line off of the vacum module (for lack of a proper identification) and it smoothed out, a lot. Just what is this little canister that slips on the plastic spade, just out board of the throttle bodies?????

My K100 doesnt have it, the manual shows it, but doesnt i.d. it.

I'm trying to get this bike on the road for the RA National. Dealer says they cant look at it for a month!

While I am familiar with my 85, this 99 is "high tech" for this mechanic and I am still learning. Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old May 15th, 2007, 9:09 pm

Lightbulb

First thing you need to try is reset the motronic. This can be accomplished by pulling fuse # 4 from the rightmost fuse box under the seat and leaving it out for several hours (I usually do this overnight). After you plug the fuse back in turn the ignition ON but DO NOT start the engine!!! Roll the throttle all the way and release, then do it one more time. Turn the ignition OFF. Turn the ignition back ON and this time start the engine. The Motronic will begin "learning" your throttle usage. This may cure some or maybe most of your issue.
Regardless it is a step you need to perform, so you might as well do it and test drive the bike.

Gilles & Kathy
BMWMOA# 154719
IBA# 71594
2011 Ostra Gray RT
06 Mercedes-Benz E350 Estate (parts and people hauler)
2012 BMW X3 (parts and people hauler)
86 Porsche 911 Cabriolet (my "new" baby)

For her I climbed the highest mountain!
For her I swam across the deepest ocean!