Missing Second - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old May 11th, 2007, 7:52 pm Thread Starter

Missing Second

I have been riding the LT for just over 2 months and I still find myself missing second gear on a fairly regular basis. I think I have upshifted, and the gear indicator says "2" and then I suddenly find myself in neutral, often with then engine revving very high. Am I still just getting used to the bike and its transmission or is this a quirk of the LT that I just need to get used to?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old May 11th, 2007, 7:55 pm

Is there any adjustment on the shift linkage?
post #3 of 9 Old May 11th, 2007, 7:55 pm

Missing Second

This is one of the oddball things about the LT that you need to get used to.

Pull the clutch in less when you upshift from 1st to 2nd. Its almost a speedshift (no clutch).

Also, you don't need to slam the shifter (like you do on a HD). It should slip into gear almost as smoothly as an automatic transmission.

Tim Barstow

2004 GSA Silver
2007 X Challenge

post #4 of 9 Old May 11th, 2007, 7:56 pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by markc
I have been riding the LT for just over 2 months and I still find myself missing second gear on a fairly regular basis. I think I have upshifted, and the gear indicator says "2" and then I suddenly find myself in neutral, often with then engine revving very high. Am I still just getting used to the bike and its transmission or is this a quirk of the LT that I just need to get used to?
My '05 does it occasionally. I would say less than 5 times in 25,000 miles.

2005 Graphite
The only way to live is in the wind....
post #5 of 9 Old May 11th, 2007, 8:48 pm

Try a piece of tape over the indicator.
You'll rapidly get used to the feel of going into neutral, first and second.

Another thing you can try is striving for the smoothest shifting, and only going up to about 3600RPM.