Potential New LT Owner here - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old Jan 30th, 2007, 10:24 pm Thread Starter

Potential New LT Owner here

Hello All great site, lots of useful information. I have been riding on and off for darn near 30 years now, my last was an 89 K100RS I sold in 1997. I am actively looking for a good used late model K1200LT , in fact going to go look at one this weekend I found in the classified section here. Is there anything special I need to know, any common problems I should be on the look out for? In addition, although I am an experienced rider, it has been some time since I have logged a lot of miles I am sure to be a bit rusty. Reading many of the posts here about the LT being top heavy and difficult to handle at low speeds has me a bit concerned.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old Jan 30th, 2007, 10:46 pm

I'm sure with you're previous riding experience that you'll do fine with the LT.
As far as the weight and being top heavy, it's just things to be aware of and ride accordingly. The bike handles great & rides very predictable.
Good luck & have fun finding the LT for you.

I've had a 78 R100RS, 95 R1100RSL, 2004 R1150RT & now 2004 LT.
post #3 of 22 Old Jan 30th, 2007, 10:46 pm

Nothing special.. this is one lady who appreciates respect.

Don't "expect" problems... if you see anything unusual, just search here or the HOW.

Now, a bit of a "retraction" about "nothing special"... some "maintenance" items are terribly unforgiving if they lack proper attention.. Here are a few..

- Tire pressures... monitor closely
- sidestand.. make SURE the bike's in 1st gear and rolled against the engine compression BEFORE dismounting

a few "personal" observations..

- If the "fat lady" sings the "swan song", she's going to finish... just don't get pinned or hurt trying to be a "hero" and save her from laying down