BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

Replace battery and flush fuel system

3K views 11 replies 10 participants last post by  Henry Schlesinger 
#1 ·
Hello folks, I’m brand new to the BMW world and purchased a K1200 LT yesterday unfortunately it’s been sitting a couple years and I’m trying to get it running. The new battery is coming tomorrow and it was suggested I drain the fuel system prior to trying to start. Unfortunately I’m a novice and can’t even get the seat off to replace the battery anyone know of a good source to find instructions that can help me get started?

#3 ·
Welcome from southern CA!
A Clymer manual is the first thing you should get.
Also, look for stuff you need to do in this forum. Another great source is Kirk Johnson which you should google if you are not familiar with his sites.
Cheers!

#4 ·
Reactions: mwnahas
#5 ·
Hey Henry...congrats on your purchase of a K1200LT. It's an amazing touring machine.

The other basic maintenance item you'll want to do is change the brake fluid. Depending on the age of the bike, you may also have to consider changing out the brake lines as the rubber ones will deteriorate over time. Also, aged brake fluid can be really tough on ABS components.

You might want to add the year of the bike to your signature, as this will help the many experts on this forum help diagnose any issues you may have in the future.

Welcome to the forum!

Reactions: beech
#6 ·
The link to the download is quickly accessible and was very helpful to me when I bought my '99. The Clymer manual is a worthy addition as well. I did ride a K100RS for several years, so that helped, but other than the engine, the similarities are few.