• 1 Post By bruincounselor
  • 1 Post By DRONE
  • 1 Post By dukey33
  • 2 Post By jzeiler

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old May 14th, 2019, 1:16 pm Thread Starter

Garage
Problems getting a smooth launch

I want to start off by saying this bike is new to me and I have put less than 10 miles on it. I have been riding for about 30 years and have had over a dozen bikes and ridden over 100k miles so motorcycles, in general, are not new to me. However, 98% of my miles have been on sport bikes or dual sports weighing less than half of what the LT weighs and the LT is by far the largest bike I have owned. I am having trouble with smooth starts. It seems to require much more RPM than I am used to for it to not stall and the clutch doesn't want to feather very smoothly at all. The friction zone is very short, almost on/off with not much in between. I am unsure if it is just my inexperience with this size bike and it just naturally needs more juice to get going or if there is something wrong with it. The clutch was replaced 4 years ago and I doubt it has 5k miles on it. It just seems like the bike doesn't want to do a smooth, slow, controlled start. Once moving, it shifts like I would expect it to and there doesn't seem to be any issues with the clutch or transmission. I am sure I will get used to it and it is rideable, it just isn't as smooth as what I had envisioned the BMW flagship to ride like. I wouldn't expect my Ducati Superbike to launch smoother than an LT.

2002 BMW K1200LT 57k (new to me 1-20-19)
1971 BMW R60/5 27k (father-in-law was original owner)
1972 & 1973 Honda Trail 70s
1971 Honda XL175 (grandfather was original owner)
1997 Ducati 748 Sold
2000 Ducati 996 7k
2001 Ducati Monster 800 Sold
2008 Ducati Monster 696 Sold
1997 Honda CBR600 Sold
1973 Suzuki GT550 (2 stroke!) Sold
1973 Honda CB500 Sold
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old May 14th, 2019, 3:04 pm
Wrencher Extraordinaire

Re: Problems getting a smooth launch