• 1 Post By Bob.K1200LT
  • 2 Post By Voyager
  • 1 Post By Mark65
  • 2 Post By Voyager

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old Jan 7th, 2019, 2:59 pm Thread Starter

Garage
Question Slow speed driving - I'm a noob

Hello, I've been riding for 30 years but have never had a bike over 400lbs. Every bike has been either a sport bike or a dirt bike. My last bike was Ducati Superbike, slow was never part of my vocabulary. Last summer my daughter showed a lot of interested in riding so I decided that I wanted to get something more "family friendly" which has led me to my new bike, a 2002 K1200LT. I have to say that the weight is quite intimidating to me. I have been researching techniques for riding heavy bikes, especially at slow speeds. Most of the techniques involve slipping the clutch a bit and using the rear brake. I am guessing those things will not work with the BMW because of the integrated brakes and the dry clutch. What advice do you have for slow maneuvering of the K1200LT? Are there any good videos or books specific to the BMW? I want to make sure that I am proficient before I take my daughter on the bike.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old Jan 7th, 2019, 3:26 pm

Re: Slow speed driving - I'm a noob

Hi Krazzz and welcome to the wonderful world of the LT. I found it intimidating at first too but the best advice I can give is just live with it and practice. The obvious things apply like never apply the brakes unless your handlebars are straight. Always plan where you are going to stop and place your feet. Slipping the clutch is not a good idea on these bikes with the dry clutch. Another thing you can do is remove the top box for a while until you get to know the bike more. you will be surprised at how this transforms the bikes balance and handling. It only takes about 15 minutes to do and you can put it back on later. Also don't fill the tank all the way, that will help keep the weight down lower while you get used to the big bike.