Looking a purchasing 1999 K1200LT 85K Q&A - BMW Luxury Touring Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Travis Handleson

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old Jul 7th, 2017, 12:06 pm Thread Starter

Looking a purchasing 1999 K1200LT 85K Q&A

So I'm looking at buying this bike. Price is $1200

I already know I will have to do the clutch. He claims it just started slipping. It's my understanding that there is no real way to know what the failure is until you take it apart.
So Clutch / Slave Cylinder / O-Ring and seals?
I have been browsing some of the posts about this job trying to get a feel for what the job will take. I have worked on Kawasaki's in the past. I have also restored a few cars, rebuilt a few motors, used to work on BMW cars so I'm a fairly qualified mechanic. Looks like the biggest thing is supporting the bike to disassemble it since the center stand has to come off.

ABS light flashing. From what I have read this may be a result of the battery being dead/low

Needs a rear tire.

I haven't taken a good look at it yet. Just saw it and talked to the guy yesterday. It belongs to the father of a guy I work with. It has been sitting for a little while. Someone he knew got hurt in a bike accident and it spooked him out of riding.

I am going back next week to test drive and do a through inspection. I've read about checking the brake lines for age? What other things should I check out before purchasing this bike.

Thanks for all of you input and expert advice in advance. It looks like a nice bike overall and from what I have read those that own them love them. As a bonus it is like the two wheel version of my truck. Same year, same color.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old Jul 7th, 2017, 12:41 pm

Re: Looking a purchasing 1999 K1200LT 85K Q&A