Radio on but no sound - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old Nov 25th, 2006, 9:48 pm Thread Starter

Radio on but no sound

Hey Guys I'm new to this whole forum thing. I bought a used 2000 K1200LT about a year ago. Its been a great bike with no problems until about a month ago. After a heavy rain my radio stopped working. The LED display is on, I can tune stations with either the main control panel, or with the handlebar controls. The display even tells me what song is playing, but there is no sound. When I press the mute button "mute" appears on the LED as it is supposed to. I asked my local dealership about this and they told me they had no idea and I should replace the radio with a new one for $720. Since then I have taken the unit apart all the way down to its circuit board with no luck. I have tried the whole thing with the battery cables to reset itself. I've checked all connections. I have read alot of the forum posts about radio issues and I don't know if I want to dish out the money to replace the radio just to have it fail in a year or two. Any suggestions, cause I'm out! I ride 5 days per week at about 100 miles per day, and I'm getting a little board of listening to my MP3 player with earphones.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old Nov 25th, 2006, 10:08 pm

Just a quick thought (you've prolly already thought of it!). Try one of the salvage vending sites and see if you can pick up a used radio from their inventory of parts. Beemerboneyard, or Deep6auctions, or maybe eBay.
post #3 of 7 Old Nov 26th, 2006, 6:51 am

Quote:
Originally Posted by scootermac
Any suggestions, cause I'm out!
OK you've probably already done this, and it's already gotten a fair amount of traffic the last week or so... but have you also checked the lone fuse on the back of the radio?