2Likes
  • 1 Post By mtrevelino
  • 1 Post By bmwcoolk1200

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old Jan 19th, 2017, 7:38 pm Thread Starter

Garage
HID High beam question

HI all
Perhaps some tech savvy rider can shed some "light" on this.. I don't know quite how to ask in Google search to get a clear answer.
I understand that it can take up to 15 seconds or more to get full brightness out of the HID on an LT. My question is this. If say you use your high beam on a normal road. Of course you'll want to dip them for approaching cars. When you go back to High beam, does the HID take as long to warm up to it's full brightness?
I would think that if not off for a long time, it would keep it's "warmth" and brighten faster, but i'm not technical enough to figure it out.
Any inputs?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/SIGPIC]

Joe
Palm Coast, FL.

2006 K1200LT (Love it)
2002 R1150RT (Sold)
2007 Harley FLHTCU (sold at 137k Miles)
1999 Harley Night train (blew the eng at 150k miles)
1986 harley Davidson FLTC (Sold When assigned to Europe
1982 Harley Wide Glide (sold)
1981 Kawasaki k1000LTD (sold)
1980 Triumph Bonneville (sold)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old Jan 19th, 2017, 9:17 pm

Re: HID High beam question

Instead of 15 seconds, it would take from 5 to 10 seconds to get to full brightness. I would install a led or one of those silver star bulbs some talk about.
zippy_gg likes this.

Mike Trevelino
Williamsburg, VA
2008 RT
2000 LT - Totaled at 99,960 miles

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 14 Old Jan 19th, 2017, 9:40 pm
Wrencher Extraordinaire