New Member Question - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old Oct 30th, 2006, 6:43 pm Thread Starter

New Member Question

Good evening all. I am new to the BMW motorcycle community since letting my previous ride go four months ago. I have been riding Honda's for the past fifteen years, most recently a Goldwing, but a friend of mine has finally convinced me to switch.
I am hoping to gain knowledge from this forum regarding the purchase of a K1200LT. I am wondering if there are any specific issues to look out for with any given model year (maintenance, reliability, features, etc.). I have found a number of eligible candidates on ibmwr.org that I am considering, but I want to make an informed choice. I greatly appreciate any insight any of you might provide.

Brian Raber
Huntsville, AL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old Oct 30th, 2006, 7:10 pm

Howdy, Brian!

Congrats for filling in your Profile!!!

I suggest you read the "HOW" forum... "Hall of Wisdom". The informatin there is too good to attempt to duplicate here.

Having become a 'convert' to BMW only 2 years ago I think the "faults" clearly and overwhelmingly override any "issues" you may find with the K1200LT.

Our "Misty" is an '05 model. I like the way the dash is laid out along with the other control features. The "issues" are ...

1- lousy rider seat
2- poor "lighting" headlights
3- for an "average guy" like me.. (280#, 6'2" and 33" inseam) the bike seat height is fine, except the foot position after a couple of hours in the saddle.

On the other hand, the Hydraulic Center Stand, higher output engine, ABS, etc, etc, are great!

If you buy a bike which is eligible for "extended warranty", any "mechanical issues" should be easily resolved...

The biggest key is your "dealer".... if you buy the "warranty" from them they will be able to tell you, "up front" what to expect with any significant problem.

Good hunting!

J.M.J...
Dcn Channing