Questions from a newbie - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old Oct 24th, 2006, 8:56 pm Thread Starter

Questions from a newbie

Hello!! I am shopping for a new bike and a few weeks ago I test drove a Gold Wing 1800 and was very impressed. Today a test drove a K1200LT and fell in love with a marvelous bike. At this point, I have a few questions. First, while I am not a professional mechanic, I like to do as much work on my bikes as I possibly can. How easy is it to work on this bike?? Besides the BMW service manual, is there some other source for information on how to do the service work on a K1200LT?? Second, all of the other bikes I have owned or even considered purchasing had mediocre suspension and all were vastly improved by upgrading the suspension. Is this also true for the BMW bikes?? for the K1200LT?? If so, what would you recommend??

Thanks for your help.

Mark Hagy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old Oct 24th, 2006, 9:48 pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by drev53
Hello!! I am shopping for a new bike and a few weeks ago I test drove a Gold Wing 1800 and was very impressed. Today a test drove a K1200LT and fell in love with a marvelous bike. At this point, I have a few questions. First, while I am not a professional mechanic, I like to do as much work on my bikes as I possibly can. How easy is it to work on this bike?? Besides the BMW service manual, is there some other source for information on how to do the service work on a K1200LT?? Second, all of the other bikes I have owned or even considered purchasing had mediocre suspension and all were vastly improved by upgrading the suspension. Is this also true for the BMW bikes?? for the K1200LT?? If so, what would you recommend??

Thanks for your help.

Mark Hagy
Mark,