8Likes
  • 2 Post By saddleman
  • 2 Post By Farmerian
  • 1 Post By RemonLT
  • 3 Post By Farmerian

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old Aug 8th, 2016, 3:09 pm Thread Starter

LT back firing

I have always used the match-rev technic while downshifting on all my motorcycles, that is to say pulling the clutch, downshifting and then reving the engine sligthly before letting the clutch back. I have been doing that on my LT for several years without any issue but recently the LT started backfiring sometime after I let the clutch back. The bike works great with no hesitation otherwise so I am wondering what could be the cause of this back firing.

Alain

Vieux motard que jamais
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old Aug 8th, 2016, 5:28 pm
Enjoy The Ride

Re: LT back firing

You might have a crack somewhere in the exhaust system.
vernvernvern and beech like this.

Dave Selvig
2004 Black LT
2000 Canon Red LT

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 8 Old Aug 11th, 2016, 8:15 am

I have an 06 LT trike, that has developed a backfire after a total rebuild of the clutch and replacement of the brake assist module. Bike was apart down to the frame. Engine ran fine before the rebuild started
Bike backfires at idle but not at speed or when down shifting. When riding at about 4000rpm there is a loud howling that disappears when you increase or decrease rpms.
I suspected the exhaust sealing rings may have been pinched so I dropped the exhaust and put in 4 new rings. Still backfires.
Have taken out the fuel pump and all looks good although I have not taken a pressure reading.
I will be looking for a separated vacuum line today.
The bike ran fine before so I don't expect a valve issue. But the constant tearing apart the bike is driving me crazy.
Any Ideas of where to check?

post #4 of 8 Old Aug 11th, 2016, 9:00 am
Lifetime Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpac View Post