4Likes
  • 1 Post By mondrage
  • 1 Post By budzee
  • 1 Post By jzeiler
  • 1 Post By haawg

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old Jul 27th, 2016, 1:09 pm Thread Starter

Engine Issue

To start with, I'm no mechanic and my wife will only let me use a hammer around the house. That said, I have a 2000 K1200LT. The other day I gassed up the bike at a Chevron (premium gas), the bike worked fine for about 45 min. The bike then started hesitating when accelerating, like someone turned the choke on. I had to keep the engine revved up to 2000 rpm at stop lights (being afraid it would die). I limped the bike home. I turned the bike off and let it sit for a couple of minutes. I started it up and took a short drive around the neighborhood. For a few minutes the bike ran like the choke was stuck on, then the bike started running like normal. The next day I took the bike out, and it seemed to be running OK. I came up to a stop light and it died. I popped the clutch and it started right up. I stopped at several other stop lights, and the bike idled fine.
As I said, I'm no mechanic, now I'm leery about taking the bike out too far away from home. Any ideas what may be going on ? This is the first time I've had this type of issue.
Thanks again.....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old Jul 27th, 2016, 1:11 pm

Re: Engine Issue

Could be that the hoses in the tank are leaking. Or a fuel pump issue.
That's where I'd start.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MBevans likes this.

----------------------------------------------------
BMW K1200LT 2007
BMW K1200R: "Drophammer" 2006
BMW R1200GS 2008
BMW K1200S 2007
Suzuki DR-Z400E 2000
Sachs MadAss FY125-20
BMW R1200R 2009 (in my stable, thinking about it...)

-----------------------------------------------------
post #3 of 13 Old Jul 27th, 2016, 1:39 pm