Re-do / Re-new front seat foam - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old Sep 2nd, 2006, 8:47 am Thread Starter

Re-do / Re-new front seat foam

I have an 03 LT and am thinking about "Firming Up" the front seat. I don't want to change the look or the seat height (I am 5'10" with a 30" inseam). I am never quite flat footed and don't want to make it worse.

Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old Sep 2nd, 2006, 11:11 am

Since I didn't want to go all out for a custom saddle (tried that before at $700 and no love), I took the suggestion of another board member and had a layer of memory foam installed in my saddle. Oregon Aero only charged $175, my seat looks original, retained the heater, and excellent service. Since I am a pilot and have been to their facility, I trusted them with my saddle. This won't make it a 1000 mi/day saddle, but it's better.

http://www.oregonaero.com/p86_2001.html#motorcycles
post #3 of 6 Old Sep 2nd, 2006, 10:20 pm Thread Starter

thanks

I will look into them this winter.

post #4 of 6 Old Sep 3rd, 2006, 3:18 pm

Please make sure you post your results. My '03 saddle is getting a little flat and not wanting to invest $$$$ I was thinking of having the thing rebuilt. Actually, I was just thinking of taking it off and going to a local upholstery shop. Why couldn't they do the job? Or maybe one that specializes in auto upholstery.

Brian
Fanwood, NJ
2003 K1200LT Anthracite

"Explain it to me once more: WHY do I have to "Press 1 for English"
post #5 of 6 Old Sep 3rd, 2006, 4:00 pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLBantz
Please make sure you post your results. My '03 saddle is getting a little flat and not wanting to invest $$$$ I was thinking of having the thing rebuilt. Actually, I was just thinking of taking it off and going to a local upholstery shop. Why couldn't they do the job? Or maybe one that specializes in auto upholstery.