PIAA 1100x Electrical Install - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old Aug 31st, 2006, 3:11 pm Thread Starter

Question PIAA 1100x Electrical Install

All,

Just purchased PIAA 1100x lights (not here yet) to be installed under the cowl and I gotta say this electrically-challenged person is dreading the whole wiring proposition.

I plan to buy the autoswitch that functions with the signal cancel switch, so...having said all that, can anyone offer advice before I install?

1. Do I have to remove tupperware? If so, what?
2. Wiring routing advice?
3. Should I install just to be on all the time for visibility? and how to do?
4. Any install pictures would be helpful.

Remember, I am an electrical novice, so be gentle.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old Aug 31st, 2006, 3:53 pm

Well, time has eroded my memory of this and it was getting well into the night by the time we got to this project, so no pics, but here's what I remember.

Both upper side panels. The kit bolts to the side panels.
For the auto switch, you'll have to take off the cover on the right handlebar. I cut the power wire (color included in the instructions), and didn't have the right jumper figured out so ended up really ham fisting that connection. Need to go back and fix that one day. Have your jumper cable built first so you just have to cut and strip both ends and crimp connectors on.

If you go high over the tank (which is the easiest approach), you'll have to undo it everytime you take the tank off for the 12K service. If you go low, you have to worry about heat off the engine head. We went low but I wish I would have had extra insulating tape around the wire for that section. Also, on the autoswitch wire that runs up the handle bar, make sure you've got play in the wire lock to lock before you zip tie it to the frame.