Newbie - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old Jun 12th, 2015, 7:38 am Thread Starter

Hi guys, I have the chance to buy a 1999 K1200 LT with 45k on it (is that a lot of miles for one of these bikes?) and was wondering what faults I should be looking out for.
I'm new to the K1200 LT so any help would be very much appreciated...... Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old Jun 12th, 2015, 8:35 am
Lifetime Supporter

Re: Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rab-33 View Post
Hi guys, I have the chance to buy a 1999 K1200 LT with 45k on it (is that a lot of miles for one of these bikes?) and was wondering what faults I should be looking out for.
I'm new to the K1200 LT so any help would be very much appreciated...... Thanks
Like most vehicles, it all depends on the maintenance. A well-maintained LT with 45K miles is barely broke in. One that wasn't maintained, annual ABS flushes in particular, might be a very expensive "bargain" priced bike.

There may be a list of areas to check if you search the site, but I am not aware of one right off-hand.

A few that come to mind and which are expensive are:

1. ABS that hasn't had annual wheel circuit flushes or is showing fault lights. My 07 has a different system than the 99 and I am not familiar with the latter, but mine will flash the brake failure light until I ride a few feet to trigger the self-test. However, if you hit 10 MPH and still have fault lights flashing, you probably have trouble.
2. Slipping clutch. Go out and whack the throttle wide open in 5th gear. If the relationship between RPM and speed isn't linear, then you have an expensive clutch (worn disk, weak spring, oil or slave cylinder leak) problem.
3. Check the trunk latch for cracks at the corners where the actuating arms are.
4. Check the final drive and swing arm boots for leaks and check for play in the rear wheel.