Moving from a K11LT to a K12LT - How to shop? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old May 25th, 2015, 9:40 am Thread Starter

Moving from a K11LT to a K12LT - How to shop?

Hello all,

I've been riding a '93 K1100LT for the past 14 years. I bought it as a one-up tourer/IB bike, and did all the mods to the bike that that role required (lights, cruise, aux tank). Also did all(most) of my own maintenance, including replacing rear seal, drive shaft (had dealer rebuild/shim FD).

Now, my wife likes to ride, but the K11 is a little cramped for her liking, so I'm looking to up-size to the K1200LT. I've also looked at the GL1800, but not sure I'm ready to go that big/expensive. I've ridden both, and believe the K will do what I want.

Here's the question, put in the context of what I understand to be the differences that developed over the production run of the K12. Do I understand this correctly:

99-02 (April production?): ABSII vs. later production integrated/linked brakes

05 on: changed steering geometry, meaning no radial tires; power centerstand.

All models have ABS of some flavor, reverse, five speed tranny.

FD is a 4% issue, and can be prevented by a proper rebuild at reasonable cost from members here. More common on earlier bikes?

Rear seal and o-ring have a tendency to fail: can be detected earlier (and avoiding clutch oiling) by drilling a weep hole.

Early radios have a failure potential due to vibrations, but can be replaced with modern BT/usb units (not issue, as who uses physical CD's anymore?)

What I don't know: How good, or not, is the factory nav and comms, and when was it available? I have portable nav, and know I'll want good comm.