Final Drive Backlash - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old Jul 30th, 2006, 5:07 am Thread Starter

Final Drive Backlash

As I am fairly new to the whole K1200LT (approximately 2 months), I only really have one concern. Is it normal to have a certain amount of backlash in the final drive?

I only ask because if I back off then accelerate I get a fairly loud clunk as the drive takes up, other then that all appears normal. If I put her up on the centre stand is there a "normal" amount that the rear wheel should move when it is in gear or is it all "normal". I am assuming that the gearbox and final drive all take up some play.

I also have a Suzuki C90 that has a shaft drive and it appears to have less backlash then the BMW, impossible to tell if there is any noise accompanying it as it sounds as subtle as a jumbo jet.

So basically, is there a point when there is too much backlash on the Beemer?

As per my signature, I have a 2003 Titan silver, I have put about 4-5000kms on it in some fairly harsh country and I am loving it more each time I go out. My only other issue is keeping the missus awake long enough to see the countryside lol.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old Jul 30th, 2006, 10:51 am

Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozkruz
As I am fairly new to the whole K1200LT (approximately 2 months), I only really have one concern. Is it normal to have a certain amount of backlash in the final drive?
Neale,
Seems you already know that there has to be some. There hasn't been too much discussion on how much is too much, sooooooooooo, I went and "measured" mine for comparison.