BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

Front Brake Pad R&R (looong story)

4K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  Doug_Gentry 
#1 ·
** Disclaimer ** The following is not intended to provide instruction on any mechanical procedure. I am not a mechanic and do not provide advice or suggestions on working on your motorcycle. I know nothing about brakes. My bike is different than yours. This is for discussion purposes only. If you work on any system on your bike you do so at your own risk. Faulty brakes can lead to injury or death, and if you follow any remarks below you may render your braking system faulty.**

Removed and replaced my front brake pads today for the first time. This is on a 1999 LT with Brembo calipers and ABS but not Integral brakes. As always, I checked the manual, which has instructions on the order of "– Remove the brake calliper.
• Remove the split-pin keeper (1) from retaining
pin (2).
• Remove retaining pin (2).
• Remove brake pads by pulling downwards."

Always so helpful to neophytes (see disclaimer above!) Then I checked the HoW (always my first stop), and Technical Articles (always my second stop), but did not find much about front pad R&R, other than posts about brands and types of pads. Did a search on front brake pads, got about 10,000 postings, read through the first 5 or 6, scanned the headers of the rest on page 1, and dropped it. I had done the rear pads about 2 weeks ago, so I trotted off to do the fronts, secure in the belief that the front pads would not be too different. (I am an idiot. See disclaimer above.)