The art of the downshift... - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old Jul 26th, 2006, 11:00 am Thread Starter

Question The art of the downshift...

Lemme explain...

On several of the bikes I used to own (one of which I put over 100K on), I could (and would) downshift without using the clutch. Match the bike speed, engine speed and tap down. Not all the time, but a good portion of the deceleration times during a trip.

The LT I have now seems to do this quite nicely. I am still learning the power band of the LT and the idiosyncracies of the clutch, but it begs the question and it's one I have not found an answer to...

Can one downshift (4 to 3 or 3 to 2) while decelerating and not tap the clutch on the LT? Will it hurt the tranny on this thing?

I need input...

Uncle Mark

BMW '06' 1200LT "Wild Blue"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

BMWMOA Member #127457
Honda CX500 Custom - RIP '00'

"An intelligence agency that FEARS intelligence? Historically, not awesome." . . . From what movie?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old Jul 26th, 2006, 11:12 am

There have been a couple of posts about tranny's failing. I don't know if there has been a final diagnosis at to what causes the failures.

My $.02 cents. Shifting carefully without the clutch isn't any more harmful than carelessly with the clutch. I.e. Down shifting and dumping the clutch and using the engine as brake in a rough manor.

Roy

Roy Gregersen

Ride Slow, Ride Fast, Always Ride Safe
85 K100RT sold
02 LTC DOA 9/21/14
12 R1200RT
post #3 of 3 Old Jul 26th, 2006, 1:11 pm

How much does a Transmission cost ?

I just wouldn't make a habit of shifting without the clutch...

It's there for a reason. To keep things from coming apart in the trans is only one of them...