Help !! - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old Jul 26th, 2006, 3:15 am Thread Starter

Help !!

I have a 02 k1200ltc and after riding home from Pa to VA in the pouring ran it has started cutoff at and idle. I thought maybe that the air filter had gotten wet but its still doing it. I'm new to BMW and don't know where to start any suggestions ps I love this bike 700 miles in two days and still rode to work monday
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old Jul 26th, 2006, 4:59 am

Sounds like the canister picked up some water. One or two of the canister hoses exit by the rear wheel in which it is easy to pick up the water. The only fix is to either remove the canister, or pay approximately $75 for a new one and have it happen again! Do a search for canister and you will find plenty to read.

Mike Trevelino
Williamsburg, VA
2008 RT
2000 LT - Totaled at 99,960 miles

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 8 Old Jul 26th, 2006, 4:26 pm

Same thing happened to me. I was able to get a coat hanger and push it up through the rubber tube that extended off the back right part of the bike just under the right side bag. Push it up as far as it will go with a twisting action but dont psuh thru the plastic tube. Give it a few twists if its get stuck on a clog. Remove the coathanger and start the bike. The bike might be hardstarting and you might smell some gas but it will start and run fine til clogged again. The best thing is to remove the cannister as was suggested but this works until you get that done.
Jim

Jim in Dublin, OH

2005 - LT Ocean Blue (Catuffalo - Part Cat / Part Buffalo)
2002 - Moto Guzzi Cal Spec Sport
2000 - Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

post #4 of 8 Old Jul 26th, 2006, 5:59 pm
Rider Journeyman

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1200ltc