Another Newbie Here... - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old Jul 24th, 2006, 12:44 pm Thread Starter

Another Newbie Here...

Have not got my LT yet. But will be soon. Just sold my Kaw Connie and am ready to shop. Wife and I sat on several 2 tourers. Came down to LT, Wing, and the Valkyrie Interstate. After sitting on them again she selected the LT and I agree. LT fits us both best.

I am considering a 01 LT.
I am aware of the not Integrated braking and older rear bearing design, but was wondering if there were any other common issues with the 01?

Did the redesign of the drive bearing decrease number of rear drive failure?

What is the Cost of fixing/replacing rear drive after failure?

Cost of replacing ABS system?

Were Comm systems not standard?

Thanks in Advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old Jul 24th, 2006, 2:30 pm

Welcome ! Yes I believe the redesign has helped,second, replacement parts bought used(beemerboneyard.com)will save you at least 50% in most cases whatever the problem is,i hope i was of some help
post #3 of 21 Old Jul 24th, 2006, 4:49 pm

About 3 years ago I did the same thing you did: Sold my nearly brand new Connie for a '99 LT with just 8700 miles on it.
The decision was made because the SO at the time hated being in the back of the Connie. It was as unpleasant for her in the back as it was fun for me to ride!
It took me a little while to get used to the weight of the beast and low speed handling. Never had a serious problem with the mount, but I did have the shift linkage break 2 block away from home and quickly replaced with a kit from PhilJohn of this forum.
I never worried about rear drive failure and used the bike as my primary transportation and weekend getaway getaway vehicle loaded with 2 up.
I loved the Brembo brakes!!!