K1200LT DIY-How To Bend Your Rear Wheel :) - BMW Luxury Touring Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By copperstatetour

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old Oct 18th, 2014, 3:24 pm Thread Starter

K1200LT DIY-How To Bend Your Rear Wheel :)

Hi,

I'm guessing most of you wouldn't pull such a stupid stunt, but just in case there is someone who hates to pay for stuff they can do themselves, maybe I can save them some time, money and grief by describing my mistake and what I learned.

To start out, I've been changing my own motorcycle tires for the past 35 years using tire levers. This includes Honda SL100's, SL350, CB550... A Triumph Bonneville, various Yamaha's and Suzuki street and dirt bikes. Both tube and tubeless tires. Basically, I thought I knew what I was doing and while using a shade tree mechanic method, it always worked fine.

About 8 months ago, I changed both tires on my Yamaha FZ600. No problems at all. (BTW, to balance them I used a Harbor Freight MC wheel balancer and also put Ride-On inside them).

SO, now to my attempt to change the rear tire on my 03 K1200LT!

I had noticed that the previous owner had a Dunlop rear tire that was not rated for the bike so I ordered a new Bridgestone B020 to replace it. The words "Harley Davidson" on the sidewall were also a clue that this tire didn't belong on my BMW.

I removed the rear tire and using a block of wood, a 2x4 and in this case, the rear end of my GMC Yukon, broke the bead just as I had done many times in the past. With rim protectors in place, I spooned the tire off the rim with the help of a soap mixture. No problem. I then spooned one side of the new tire on the rim. At this point, I was thinking this was going to be pretty easy.