Scheduled maintenance checks - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old Jun 20th, 2006, 11:59 am Thread Starter
ajs

Scheduled maintenance checks

My 12,000 mile check is overdue. The first one since I got the bike with 9300 miles on it. Since I am a retired automotive mechanic and I have been riding BMW's for the last 25 years,I know I can competently perform same. I know I won't lose parts/fasteners, etc. AND will torque to proper values in ALL cases. Three questions for you who have done this in the past. What 'special' tools are required? Are there any heads-up messages for me? Does performing your own routine maint. checks invalidate the warranty? I am seriously considering this because the nearest dealer is new and is 250 miles away, and the cost difference. All input is welcome. Thanks for your time. Austin S.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old Jun 20th, 2006, 12:09 pm

my only heads-up is that the integrated brake work looks to be damn -near impossible. i know there are guys on here who can do it... but the process is way more than I could ever dream of handling. i do, however struggle with the basics so maybe i'm not the best source. good luck... let us know how it goes.
post #3 of 3 Old Jun 20th, 2006, 12:40 pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajs