Other Touring Bikes - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old Jun 19th, 2014, 2:26 pm Thread Starter

Other Touring Bikes

I know of none other than the Beemer right?

I'm new to touring and as I've aged, I've come to realize my desires have changed. I never really considered selling my Harley but when you are younger and hanging out in bars, and every other guy in there is screaming outta there like they stole it, it has an effect on you. Lately though, me and the Mrs. have decided maybe its the comforts, bells and whistles that'll make touring a little better. I'm sure I do not need convincing I just wanted to do some research while I clean up the Harley, throw a for sale sign on it and save the balance to get a tourer.

I've been curious for while and the reason I all of a sudden ask this question is that I just got done reading "Well.Add me to FD failure list." and it got me thinking. (BTW props to Saddleman for posting the pics. I'm no stranger to wrenching myself and mic all the details in the engines I build)

So what else is out there in this category?

I know of the GW but I've never really wanted to get on a Honda.

I read a small bit about the Triumph Trophy last night and being and MG enthusiast I might get kicked out of the club for being seen on a "Rumph"

Then I read about the FD failures, most recently the thread mentioned above, and I really could only say, "It's not the end of the world and it happens, you'll fix it." and "I wonder what the "other" bikes have problems with"

Someone might already have a list out there comparing the tourers listing the problems and save me the research.

Again, I'm not fishing around this site, looking to be convinced otherwise for or against. I'm not looking to flame up an argument, I'm totally convinced but would like to read up on comparative touring bike's.

From what I have seen so far and what I've dreamt about for at least 5 or 6, was that I wanted to get a BMW.