BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

my thought onj the GT test ride today

3K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  RonKMiller 
#1 ·
Ok I'm not good at writing but here is a bit on the NEW K1200GT

Well the traffic was slow so the test ride was a bit slow,
I got to do the demo at 11:30am Bob from BMW atlanta had set it up for me yesterday, I love my DEALER

First the bmw vibration - The GT seems to be a tad buzzy a completely different buzz than our K1200LT LT and nothing like the vibration feel of the RT. - Although nothing of the buzz should bother you or I for riding distances with it. basically I don't see any issue I'm just reporting the buzz because it does have a slight buzzy feel at certain rpm's

The power is good, very smooth power curve nothing neck wrenching just smooth strong power, I bet this bike will fly!

It pulls out fine from 2k rpm nice and smoothly none of this falling on it's face if your to low RPM and to high of a gear, you could literally put this thing in 3rd and run all over the mountains with it from 3k rpm up quite comfortably <grin> even though I was not able to run it up the rpm range, it having a 10k redline put a smile on my face knowing the power it feels like it has at lower rpm.

The demo bike had the electrically controlled suspension on it, I was impressed how well it worked! and how well the suspension felt! Sit on the bike turn on the bike hold down the button and let the bike figure out your weight, It only took a moment, want to add some luggage push the button again and it switches mode and adjusts the suspension, you can switch from one up rider two up rider and/or with luggage, then go for a ride. While riding you can switch from comfort normal or sport mode, and you can feel the difference quite well!