Aeroflow screen and Toutec.fr - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 Old Aug 21st, 2008, 3:28 pm Thread Starter

Aeroflow screen and Toutec.fr

This is aimed more at the EU riders than US:

Ok - so back in March, when I bought the GT, I bought a high screen, Aeroflow, from their EU importer, toutec.fr.

As I have a Big Mak shelf, I chose not to fit the laminar flow plate. Also, comparing the pictures, I sit higher/taller than the rider on the Aeroflow site.

I found the screen not quite high enough, so I chose to fit a laminar lip. I suffered a cracked screen in mid June, almost 3 months of running with this new super height screen, but I was running at high speed.

I decided to modify this screen, by making bracing and struts but in order to do this, I needed another screen, so I bought another Aeroflow. After all, it had worked fine, and I have 12 years of good experience with them, from R1100RT to 8 years on K1200LTs

It was again ordered from toutec.fr, arrived and fitted - again without the laminar flow plate - my choice.

I was extremely surprised when it too cracked, at a far lower speed, just about 5 weeks back.

I wrote to toutec asking how to proceed (I attached a delivery report request). the delivery report stated it hit their server.

there was no response. Two weeks ago last sunday, as I had received no response, I wrote another email, copy to Aeroflow, stating that unless I received responses within 14 days, i would contact my credit card company for recompense.

I then entered into discussions with toutec, and matters came to a head last wednesday, when they intimated that they had reluctantly replaced one GT screen after the rider admitted to using it at 125mph for more than an hour.

I stated the speeds I had experienced failures, an reiterated that I was not making any claim for the first screen. the speeds were 144mph and 110 to 115mph.