Introduction of sorts - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old Dec 9th, 2017, 6:57 pm Thread Starter

Introduction of sorts

All,

My name is Joe and I've been riding motorcycles for about 47 of my 57 years. I started on mini bikes, followed that with dirt bikes, and have been on street bikes for the past 37 or so years. I've had Japanese bikes, HDs, one Ducati, and in January of '16 bought my first BMW, that being an '06 RT. I was back and forth between the RT and a K1200GT and am very happy with the RT. But the K bike kept gnawing at me, so last Friday I bought a blue one that was on consignment at my local BMW dealer. I'm in Winston-Salem, NC and Friday and today we had our first snow of the season, so the GT is still at the dealer as they did not open today due to the weather. Tomorrow, Sunday, the salesman, Turtle, with the good folks of Carolina BMW in Greensboro, will meet me at the dealer at noon so I can bring the GT home. Sure, it'll be in the mid 30s but sunny, and a heated seat and grips, and my heated gear will make it a comfy 40 minute ride home.

My "new" '07 GT has about 38k on the odo, and has the same features as my RT with: the aforementioned heated seats and grips, ESA, cruise, and the BC. As an added "bonus feature", the right hand fairing panel is from a K1300GT so it has the roundel in the vent ... K13 from the right, K12 from the left, we'll see who notices! My only gripe is a previous owner replaced the seat covers with leather and they've weathered poorly leaving the rider seat looking a bit shrunken. But I'll replace the seats and try my hand at recovering the originals.

All that said, I've been registered here and frequenting the RT section of this forum for going on two years. I look forward to the same benefits from this GT forum as I continue to enjoy on the RT forum!

Joe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old Dec 10th, 2017, 2:01 pm

Re: Introduction of sorts