Guess who rode a GT today! - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old Aug 27th, 2006, 7:47 pm Thread Starter

Guess who rode a GT today!

I have been reading all the glowing reports on the GT, and the local dealer had an open house this weekend (new owner), so I signed up for a ride.

Followed one of the owners for about 30 minutes on a nice demo route, a little freeway, and quite a bit of semi-residential twisties around Mount Helix here in San Diego.

My first bike ride in a little over a year and a half, after my last big accident, so started out a little tenderly, but after just a couple miles it was all coming back to me, and I started riding just about like I always did (except for the crashes of course ).

Had a real blast on the GT. No high speeds, maximum about 70 on the freeway, but the twisties were great. The bike really loves to turn! The LT was no slouch, but I can see how the GT could get addictive.

I was really surprised at the clunking transmission though. HARD clunks in at least the first 4 gears, 5th and 6th did not seem so bad.

BRAKES!! MOAB (Mother Of All Brakes). I had never ridden a power brake LT, mine was a 2001, so I was not quite ready for the first stop. 2 fingers on the front brake, and it was all I could do to keep from sitting on top of the tank. HOLY COW. I know I would get used to it, actually did pretty well before the end of the ride, but that certainly can be a heart stopper if you are not expecting it. I did start using the rear brake mostly, only holding it at stops with the front brake most of the time.