Just starting...comm systems, this is complicated!! - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old Feb 20th, 2009, 10:20 am Thread Starter

Unhappy Just starting...comm systems, this is complicated!!

The title says it all. I'm just beginning to look at comm system for my 2002 LT. I have a stock OEM sound system with the optional BMW multi-cd changer...which incidentally will soon be replaced with an iPod interface (the ISBM71) as indicated here. I'm doing this because I just don't use the cd changer, and I don't like messing with (changing and carrying) cd's.

In terms of a comm system, the choices, options, details etc. are enough to make a fellers head spin. I've read more threads than I can count on this topic, so I figured starting one more wouldn't hurt...as perhaps there are others in the same boat as I.

As one who usually researches everything to death before committing, I will generally go with whatever product has the best opinions, reviews, and support. However, in the comm system arena, the opinions seem to vary almost as much as opininions about which oil is best! In short, there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of consistency...not even amongst the BMW LTr's. I recognize that much of this is determined by personal preference and desired options, so maybe I'm just looking for some coaching and/or validations of my observations and opinions.

CB versus FM-UHF (FRS/GMRS)