LT Intercoms - How can you tell if it has one? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old May 12th, 2007, 1:47 pm Thread Starter

LT Intercoms - How can you tell if it has one?

I'm new to LT's and am looking at several for purchase, moving up from an R1100RT. I asked one owner (2002) if his has an intercom installed. He said, "Yes, it does have the front and rear intercom outlets." He sent pics which show the tank compartment with the cassette but no intercom box. I was under the assumption that if it had an intercom, it would have the box. Does having the outlets mean it has an intercom?

Thanks for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old May 12th, 2007, 2:04 pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvollnogle
I'm new to LT's and am looking at several for purchase, moving up from an R1100RT. I asked one owner (2002) if his has an intercom installed. He said, "Yes, it does have the front and rear intercom outlets." He sent pics which show the tank compartment with the cassette but no intercom box. I was under the assumption that if it had an intercom, it would have the box. Does having the outlets mean it has an intercom?

Thanks for your help.

Hi Terry,

the bike can have some other intercom than BMW. These (Autocom, Baehr etc) are usually installed under the rider or pillion seat. Only BMW intercom mounts in the tank compartment.

If the bike has the two helmet outlets it has the intercom as well. The question is really: What intercom is it and will you get the helmets or helmet sets with the bike as well or do you need to purchase them separately.

I hope this helps.

Regards

Ari "the Farkle-Freak-Finn" Ignatius

Hyvinkää, Finland
2004 ('05) LT, Dark Graphite, "Sunset Cruiser II"

Bike trip from Finland to USA:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pictures of various farkle projects: