Garmin 2610 Acquiring Satellites problem? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old Aug 31st, 2008, 3:08 pm Thread Starter

Garmin 2610 Acquiring Satellites problem?

I am a noob to GPS's and bought a refurbished 2610 that came to me looking like new. I haven't used it on my bike, choosing to use it in my car so I can get to know it better.

I used it this weekend going from Chippewa Falls WI to Madison WI (175 miles) on Friday and back today, via Interstate 94. On the way down I had satellite contact for the first 50 miles, the next 60 miles I lost satellite and the final 60 miles it was intermittent; loosing satellite for no apparent reason.

On the way home today I could not get contact in Madison and for the first 20 miles out of town on I 94. At 20 miles out, I acquired satellites and had contact for the next 155 miles with 4 episodes of "lost satellite" that lasted maybe 2 minutes.

What is up with this? Is this a bad unit, or operator error? Any suggestions or information would be helpful.

I have taken 3 other trips to the Twin Cities (100 miles) and had the same kind of experiences with long gaps in contact and the GPS seaching for long periods of time for a satellite...sometimes 20 to 30 minutes.

Thanks...

Todd
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old Aug 31st, 2008, 4:10 pm

Re: Garmin 2610 Acquiring Satellites problem?

Do you know if your car/truck has a metallic-embedded windshield, or not? If it does, the GPS won't see the satellites. I have to use an external antenna when driving my wife's Buick Rendezvous. To test, simply hold the GPS outside the passenger window and see if you get a signal. There is a screen (GPS Info) that displays the location of the satellites and your signal strength to each one. Refer to that screen and see what it tells you.

If you need an external antenna, they're about $30. Get the one made by Glisson.

HTH
post #3 of 20 Old Aug 31st, 2008, 7:56 pm