Navigator V First Impressions - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old Aug 6th, 2016, 12:49 pm Thread Starter

Navigator V First Impressions

I thought I'd give my initial thoughts on the Navigator V, and then update later after I spend a bit more time with it.

I picked up my 2016 R1200RT on Friday, and decided to use the Navigator V to plot my trip home even though I already knew the way and there was no chance I would get lost. I added the GPS to the bike knowing full well that it wouldn't compare to navigation with Google Maps, however I like to ride in the mountains where there is no cell service, wanted the built in controls, and like the built in list of BMW dealers should I have an issue with the bike while far from home.

My grasp of technology is "High". I'm a server admin at a medium sized college and I'm the one who is tasked with figuring out any new technology we integrate into the department, so I have a leg up on many when it comes to figuring out any issues integrating systems together.

The first thing I noticed when I was preparing to leave the dealership was that the interface is very easy to use and self explanatory. Buttons are large and easy to use. On first use,I found that the system didn't ask for my city and state when I typed in my address but instead searched locally for my destination. I had to cancel the local search for "Main St." and tell it the city I wanted. It would be nice if it asked for the city and then just had a "search locally" button instead. It's possible I missed a step, I've only done this once so far.