Germany Motorcycle Storage - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old Aug 11th, 2009, 8:37 am Thread Starter

Germany Motorcycle Storage

This is a survey of sorts, and I believe this is the right place to put this thread. But if it is not, please advise.

I am a retired US Army Officer living and working in Northern Bavaria, some of you who where in the US Army or other services may have been to Grafenwohr Training Area before. Last year, upon my decision to buy a house and stay here, I purchased a Hof(German for Farm) here in Bavaria. With my Hof, came 1 large house, a 4 car garage, and 3 massive barns and the land. Recently, I began storing a couple of bikes(1 Harley and 1 BMW) for buddies of mine deploying down range to Afghan or Iraq. I had cleaned out my big barn and after a ride this spring, my buddy with the Harley was over after a ride, and he asked, "what would you charge for storing my bike-I dont trust my wife to take care of it".
So I thought about it, came up with a price and within the week, another friend asked the same. Last week I got an email from a K1200 forum member looking to buy my K1200(which was sold) then he asked about buying a bike here in Germany and shipping back. We went back and forth and I mentioned storing a couple of bikes for friends here. So then he came back and said "what if I where to buy a bike and keep it in Europe with you, then I could come anytime I want to ride".
So we talked more, and now I am looking into getting a proper storage contract in place, insurance, Battery Tenders, covers etc, and even buying a GS and an RT for rentals.