law question - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old Dec 28th, 2011, 8:44 pm Thread Starter

law question

Bought a bike right before Christmas. The owners wife hands him divorce papers as a Christmas gift, now the lawyer claims the bike is part of the settlement. I sent him a down payment for the bike, before Christmas, with the agreement I would pay the balance when I pick up the bike and this was agreed apon by the owner. In my opinion the bike theoretically belongs to me as I have put a down payment on it and cannot be included in the divorce settlement.

Courage doesn't always roar. Sometimes it is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying " I'll try again tomorrow".

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old Dec 28th, 2011, 9:29 pm

Re: law question

I am not a lawyer but I would think that if the husband and wife both agree on the sales price then they would just split the money.

Do you have anything in writing shown your down payment and terms?

I hope at the minimum you can get your down payment back.

best of luck

Roy

Roy Gregersen

Ride Slow, Ride Fast, Always Ride Safe
85 K100RT sold
02 LTC DOA 9/21/14
12 R1200RT
post #3 of 9 Old Dec 28th, 2011, 10:10 pm

Is it really worth getting dragged into the matter? Get your money back and walk away.

post #4 of 9 Old Dec 28th, 2011, 10:12 pm

Short answer is that you will probably end up screwed in some manner or another due to the fact that now you are in the middle of a divorce. The answer to your question is located somewhere in the following information and the answers to the questions:

1) All is fair in love, war, & divorce.
2) It depends on the law of the state where the bike is located.
3) Was the bike purchased prior to or during the marriage?
4) Is the bike titled in only the husband's name or both?