Does speed kill or not. - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 Old Jan 24th, 2008, 4:19 pm Thread Starter

Does speed kill or not.

I am an AARP driver safety program instructor. We had an update today and received a Florida Supplement work book. On page K under the heading "Effect of speed on impact", I thougth about this fourm and some of the topics about speed. It continued with, Speed influences the risk of crashes and crash injuries in three basic ways.

1. It increases the distance a vehicle travels from the time a driver detects an emergency to the time the driver reacts.

2. It increases the distance needed to stop a vehicle once an emergency is preceived.

3. It increases the crash energy by the square of the speed. When impact speed increases from 40 to 60 mph (a 50 percent increase), the energy that needs to be managed increases by 125 percent.

So does speed kill or not??

John
Florida
2004 BMW R1150R Black
Contact me 4 motor training 1&1
Expert witness in motorcycle crash reconstruction (Contact me)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 Old Jan 24th, 2008, 5:05 pm

It's like spoons make people fat, or guns kill. I think it's wholy up to the operator of the vehicle if they kill themselves or not by being idjuts.

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

-=grif=-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Grok
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 28 Old Jan 24th, 2008, 5:38 pm

Speed can be a factor, but most killings are from not paying attention while driving....
Making left turns, running stop signs or traffic lights, cause most deaths,,, speeding causes a relatively small percentage of accidents....