Any "Old" Gold Wing Riders - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old Apr 11th, 2014, 6:43 pm Thread Starter

Any "Old" Gold Wing Riders

Hello everyone. I've been riding a Honda Gold Wing GL1500 for 2+ years and a GL1100 before that. I like the Gold Wings "but" I'm not getting any younger and the 1500 is about 900 pounds before I get on it. When you are maneuvering when they are stopped they can be a challenge because of the weight. Going down the road they are a dream but I thought I would look for something a little smaller, smooth, quiet, yet plenty of power for some long distance traveling. Are there any old Gold Wing riders that have converted to BMW's, if so I would like to hear your comparison of the two bikes, pros and cons. The R1200 RT or an LT look like the bike I would probably focus on.
Thoughts anybody?

Last edited by OldRider2; Apr 11th, 2014 at 6:45 pm. Reason: Hit Enter by mistake
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old Apr 11th, 2014, 11:27 pm

Re: Any "Old" Gold Wing Riders

ive had two gold wings, although from 80s and 90s. EVERYTHING about the LT is better except going slow, under 10 MPH.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 27 Old Apr 11th, 2014, 11:48 pm

Garage

Is that ''Old" riders with Gold Wings or riders with old gold wings
I might just qualify. I have an old Gold wing 1200 LTD(1985). But my situation was not quite what you describe. If you are familiar that bike came in at about 750 pounds and as goldwing started moving up the weight scale I stuck with what I had. The 1500 and 1800 were just too long never really tried the weight.
I picked up a 2009 LT 3
and though it was a bit heavier 850 I liked how it held the road, the power was still there but the handling was the clincher. The powered center stand was the equalizer for the extra 100. Just as long as you don't drop it which I have done.